Cloning Workflows

  • Cloning is the act of creating a new workflow definition by copying an existing workflow definition.
  • Cloning can save considerable time if the new workflow definition will share common characterstics with its clone source.
  • Once created a clone is a completely separate editable entity from its source
  • Like a brand new definition, a cloned workflow definition is initially created in an inactive state.
  • Clones can be created from exisiting workflow definitions or from global readonly templates.
  • A clone of an exisiting workflow will copy its draft edits if they exist, otherwise. its published diagram
  • The cloned diagram becomes the draft of the new workflow definition

The Clone Command

Here we describe the clone command for an existing workflow definition;  the process for cloning a template is very similar and is described in Workflow Templates 

To clone a workflow definition, locate its entry on the "Active" or "Inactive" tab and click the pop up menu at its right hand end popupmenu.png

OpenPopupMenu.png

 

Select the "Clone" option from the resulting popup menu

PickCloneOption.png

 

 An input modal dialog appears, confirming the operation and source workflow name :

InputModal.png

After entering a name for the new workflow, click "Ok"

The modal dialog disappears and the tool switches to the Inactive tab to reveal the new cloned workflow at the bottom of the list.

CompletedClonedWorkflow.png

 

The tool has automatically switched to the Inactive tab

The new cloned workflow definition has been added to the bottom of the "Inactive" list

The new definition has automatically been locked for its creator (Simon Pledger) to edit

The definition has a draft workflow diagram containing a copy of the diagram from the clone source

The draft has not yet been published

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.